Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN)

The EU and the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) share a commitment to regional integration as a means of fostering regional stability, building prosperity, and addressing global challenges.  The EU fully supports ASEAN’s renewed efforts to build a closer relationship amongst its member states. The EU wants a strong, united and self-confident ASEAN, proceeding with its own integration.

Since the very first EU-ASEAN informal relations in 1972, the EU has been seeking to increase dialogue and cooperation with ASEAN, as well as to pursue closer coordination on regional and international issues.  The ASEAN-EU Ministerial Meeting of 26-27 April 2012 in Brunei Darussalam agreed on a Plan of Action                         for closer cooperation on political, security, economic and socio-cultural issues.

On 19 May 2015, the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and the European Commission adopted the Joint Communication: "The EU and ASEAN: a partnership with a strategic purpose". The Joint Communication puts forward concrete ideas for taking EU-ASEAN (Association of South East Asian Nations) relations to the next level by providing a more coherent framework for sectoral cooperation and by ensuring a sharper political focus. This strategy was confirmed in the Conclusions of the Foreign Affairs Council of June 2015.

ASEAN encompasses ten South East Asian countries: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam

Information on the EU´s co-operation programme with ASEAN can be found here.