Non-proliferation, disarmament and export control


1.   A European Security Strategy "A Secure Europe in a better world" was adopted on 12 December 2003 by the European Council and updated in December 2008. The European Security Strategy enunciates five key challenges to be faced by the EU: Terrorism, Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD), regional conflicts, State failure and organised crime. The proliferation of WMD is defined as potentially the greatest threat to European security. The consequences of the illicit manufacture, transfer and circulation of small arms and light weapons (SALW) are central to the other four challenges defined in the European Security Strategy.        

2.   In parallel, on 12 December 2003, the European Council adopted a Strategy against the proliferation of WMD which states that WMD and missile proliferation put at risk the security of EU Member States, their people and their interests around the world. The EU must act with resolve, using all instruments and policies at its disposal. The ultimate objective is to prevent, deter, halt and where possible, eliminate WMD proliferation programmes of concern worldwide.

3.   On 15-16 December 2005, the European Council adopted a Strategy to combat illicit accumulation and trafficking of SALW and their ammunition . The EU SALW Strategy is a comprehensive document that gives the combined response needed to overcome the threats posed by the illicit accumulation and trafficking of SALW and their ammunition. The EU SALW strategy exploits fully the means available to the EU at multilateral and regional levels, within the European Union and in the EU's bilateral relations.

4.  In July 2010 the Council of the European Union decided to create a network bringing together foreign policy institutions and research centres from across the EU to encourage political and security-related discussion and exploration of measures to combat the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction and their delivery systems (Council Decision 2010/430/CFSP ).

The EU Non-Proliferation Consortium is composed of four leading think-tanks: La Fondation pour la recherche stratégique in Paris, the Peace Research Institute in Frankfurt, the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute and the International Institute for Strategic Studies based in London. The Consortium's network comprises over 60 think-tanks from all over Europe.

The EEAS and the Consortium worked together to organise two consultative meetings in Brussels in May 2011 and June 2013, two seminars on the process for the establishment of a WMDFZ in the Middle East, respectively in July 2011 and November 2012, as well as two international non-proliferation and disarmament conferences in February 2012 and on 30 September/1 October 2013.

The Consortium is also producing a growing body of policy-oriented publications on topics of direct relevance to officials and academics alike.

  • Print
  • resize text to normal
  • Increase font size by 150 percent
  • Increase font size by 200 percent