The European Union on 28 May 2015, signed short stay visa waiver agreements with Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines as well as Trinidad and Tobago. This allows citizens of these countries to visit all EU Member States, except the United Kingdom and Ireland for up to 90 days within a six-month period without requiring a visa, as long as the purpose of the visit is not to carry out a paid activity. Dominicans, Grenadians, St. Lucians and Vincentians already enjoy visa free travel to the UK and Ireland. 

The new signatories are additions to the four other Caribbean Countries – The Bahamas, Barbados, Antigua and Barbuda, along with St. Kitts and Nevis – which were granted visa waiver status in 2009 by the EU. 

As regards France and the Netherlands, the visa-free travel shall apply only to the European territory of these Member States. The visa regime between the overseas territories, including those in the Caribbean, of these Member States and the countries granted visa waiver status remains subject to bilateral arrangements between the countries concerned or to national legislation. 

The EU Member States that allow visa free access are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden. 

A declaration attached to the Visa Waiver Agreement states that it would be desirable that the authorities of Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein (as non-EU members of the Schengen Area) conclude with the Caribbean countries without delay, similar bilateral agreements on the short-stay visa waiver. 


British High Commission 
Acting High Commissioner Colin Dick 
Address: Lower Collymore Rock 
P.O Box 676 
Tel: 1(246) 430-7800 
The Embassy of France in St. Lucia 
Ambassador H.E. Philipe Ardanaz 
Address: Nelson Mandela Drive 
Vigie – Castries 
St. Lucia 
Tel: 1(758)455-6060 

Study programmes

Erasmus+ is the European Union’s programme for education, training, youth and sport. Between 2014 and 2020, it will provide opportunities for four million people to study, train and gain life experience abroad. 

Erasmus+ replaces a number of older programmes, including an international exchange programme called Erasmus Mundus. 

See the Erasmus+ web portal’s Resources section for information about linguistic support, documents for applicants and the management of proposals.