Easy mobility for travelling within the European Union.

Visas Schengen

The Schengen Agreement, which is an integral part of European law, abolished border controls between 22 EU countries and 3 non-member countries. However, the Union's external borders have been maintained and a common visa policy has been established.

Visa application

The visa application will be submitted to the Embassy of Belgium in Burundi for any traveller going to one of the following countries: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Sweden and Switzerland.

For other countries, the visa application will be submitted to their diplomatic representations in neighbouring States.

Travelling to several countries in the Schengen area

When a visa has been issued by a country that fully applies the Schengen Agreement, it can be used to travel to other countries in the Schengen area. In addition, a valid residence permit issued by one of these countries is equivalent to a visa. However, a national visa to travel to countries outside the Schengen area may be required.

In the context of a trip involving several countries in the Schengen area, the Member State competent to examine a visa application is that of the main destination. If it is impossible to determine the main destination, it is the Member State of the first entry which must be informed of the request. The Community Visa Code does not require you to start a trip to the Schengen area by arriving in the territory of the Member State which issued the visa.

It is nevertheless necessary to be able to present, at each border crossing and throughout a stay, the supporting documents (purpose of the stay, means of subsistence and accommodation, insurance, transport tickets between the country of destination). (arrival and country of destination) which must make it possible both to prove the stay in the country of first arrival and to identify the main destination of the trip.


Belgium embassy to Burundi

Boulevard de la Liberté, 18
Tel: + (257)
Mail :
Bujumbura@diplobel.fed.beWebsite : http://burundi.diplomatie.belgium.be

French embassy to Burundi

Boulevard de l'Uprona, 60
Tel: + (257)
Mail :
Website: http://www.ambafrance-bi.org/

Germany embassy to Burundi

Avenue du 18 Septembre, 22
Tel: + (257)
Mail :
Website: https://bujumbura.diplo.de

Netherland embassy to Burundi

Immeuble Old East, Place de l'Indépendance
Tel: + (257)
Mail :
buj@minbuza.nlWebsite : https://www.paysbasetvous.nl


Erasmus + is the EU's program for education, training, youth and sport in Europe.

Erasmus + is the European Union's program for education, training, youth and sport. For the period 2014-2020, it offers opportunities for four million people to study, train and gain life experience abroad.

Erasmus + replaces a number of older programs, including an international exchange program called Erasmus Mundus.

For more information and to obtain the main tools and documents for the candidate: Resources section of the Erasmus+ web portal.