The borders of the European Union have always been open to Costa Rican citizens. However, in this pandemic context, some restrictive measures have been taken to restrict travel to the EU zone.

Travelling to the EU

In June 2020, the European Commission launched the Re-open EU platform with the aim of reopening travel and tourism to the EU territory, with strict sanitary control to prevent the spread of COVID

Most EU countries belong to the Schengen area with the exception of Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania.

Some countries that are not part of the European Union must obtain a visa when travelling to the Schengen area. The European Union publishes a list of two lists, one of citizens who must present a visa and the other of citizens who are exempt from the visa requirement. Please see the attached link for the list:!QH49GW

Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS)

ETIAS is the new Travel Information and Authorisation System created for citizens who are currently exempt from visa requirements to visit the Schengen area. One of the main objectives of this new procedure is to contribute to European border security by facilitating the identification of possible threats and risks associated with people wishing to travel to any of the countries that make up the Schengen area.

By the end of 2022, all visa-exempt foreign visitors have to apply for ETIAS. The introduction of this procedure will not change free transit, but it will be a mandatory requirement for entry into the European Union.

Member States of the European Union in Costa Rica

Embassy of Germany

Web: www.san-jose.diplo.dee-mail: info@san-jose.diplo.deTel. +506 2290 9091,-92, -93

Embassy of Spain

Web: http://www.exteriores.gob.ese-mail: Emb.sanjose@maec.esTel: + 506 22 22 19 33

Embassy of France

https://cr.ambafrance.orge-mail:​​​​​​​Tel. + 506 22 34 42 01

Embassy of Italy

Web: https://ambsanjose.esteri.ite-mail: ambasciata.sanjose@esteri.itTel: + 506 2225-6467

Embassy of the Netherlands

https:// www.paisesbajosytu.nle-mail: ​​​​​​​Tel: +506 2296 1490


Studying in the European Union

Erasmus+ is the EU programme that seeks to support education, training, research, youth and sport both in Europe and with third countries, such as Costa Rica.

It has an estimated budget of €26.2 billion. This is almost double the funding of the programme that preceded it in the 2014-2020 period.

For the period 2021-2027, the programme focuses on social inclusion, green and digital transitions, and promoting the participation of young people in democratic life.


Erasmus+ offers mobility and cooperation opportunities in:

  • Higher education.
  • Vocational education and training.
  • School education (including early childhood care and education).
  • Adult education.
  • Youth and sport.

The Erasmus+ Programme Guide contains detailed information on these opportunities and the eligibility criteria.