Currently, the Schengen area covers most of the countries of the European Union, except Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania. Moreover, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, which are not members of the European Union, have joined the Schengen area.

Travelling to the European Union

The Delegation of the European Union to Cuba does not have consular functions. Thus, in order to complete the visa formalities necessary to travel to the Schengen area or to a Member State of the EU that is not part of it, you must contact the relevant embassy. In this link you can find more information about the diplomatic and consular services of the Member States of the European Union around the world.

If you plan to travel to Europe you can also find useful information on the following websites:

Schengen visa policy

European Union Immigration Portal

Your Europe portal


Studying and researching in the European Union

The European Union offers various opportunities for exchange and cooperation in the fields of education, research and innovation:

Cooperation opportunities can also be found in EU-funded open platforms for scientists, teachers and the general public, such as the EU Open Data Portal or the OpenAIRE portal for scientific results.