Teatro Europa 3 goes to Bacolod

H.E. Luc Véron, European Union Ambassador to the Philippines, is travelling to Bacolod for the performance of “Godo” by the Maskara Theatre Ensemble of the University of St. La Salle, on 20 August 2022, as part of the Teatro Europa theater festival.


Teatro Europa is a theater festival organized every year since 2020 by the Delegation of the European Union to the Philippines as part of its efforts to disseminate European culture and to forge partnerships with Philippine academic institutions.

Having been held virtually in the past two years, Teatro Europa 3rd edition is taking place in a hybrid format this year, with altogether 18 performances, eight of which on-site in different locations in Metro Manila, Bacolod, Baguio and Iloilo.

This year’s Teatro Europa includes: 

  1. Colegio de San Juan de Letran’s Teatro de Letran - Philadelphia, Here I Come by Brian Friel of Ireland adapted to Piladelpiya, Hirrr ay Kammm!
  2. Colegio San Augustin’s Kanlaon Theater Guild - The Elegance of the Molecule by Petr Zelenka of the Czech Republic
  3. Meridian International Business Arts and Technology (MINT) College’s MINTeatro - La Mandragola (The Mandrake) by Niccolò Machiavelli of Italy
  4. Mapúa University’s Mapúa Tekno Teatro - Antigone in Molenbeek by Stefan Hertmans of Belgium
  5. Xavier University - Ateneo de Cagayan’s The Xavier Stage - A Matter of Husbands by Ferenc Molnar of Hungary adapted to Give me back my Husband!
  6. Saint Louis University’s Tanghalang SLU - Fuente Ovejuna by Lope de Vega of Spain
  7. Mindanao State University – General Santos’ Basic Institute for Dramatic Arts - The Madman and the Nun by Stanislaw Ignacy Witkiewicz of Poland adapted to Straitjacketed
  8. Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Valenzuela’s PLV BACSTAGE- A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen of Denmark
  9. Jose Rizal Memorial State University – Dapitan Campus’s Teyatro Dasuliman – Miss Julie by August Strindberg of Sweden
  10. Rizal Technological University’s RTU Dulaang Rizalia- Lysistrata by Aristophanes of Greece
  11. Jose Rizal University’s Teatro Rizal - The Fourposter by Jan de Hartog of The Netherlands
  12. Asian Institute of Maritime Studies’ Layag Collective - The Bus by Stanislav Stratiev of Bulgaria
  13. Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Marikina’s Batlaya Theater Guild - The Master by Hermann Bahr of Austria
  14. Arellano University’s Teatro Arellano - The Evangelists by Alina Mungiu-Pippidi of Romania
  15. University of the East’s UE Drama Company - Cutting a Cake by Christoffer Mellgren of Finland
  16. La Salle University’s Teatro Guindegan – Auto da Alma (The Soul’s Journey) by Gil Vicente of Portugal adapted to Padayon
  17. University of San Augustin - Iloilo’s USA Little Theater - Rosemarie the Cow by Andri Beyeler of Germany adapted to Baka-Baka
  18. University of St. La Salle - Bacolod’s USLS Maskara Theatre Ensemble - Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett of France re-imagined into Godo

“Godo”, is a re-imagination of Samuel Beckett's play "Waiting for Godot",  which explores the uncertainty of what is happening when nothing happens. It tells the story of longtime friends Didi and Gogo who routinely meet at an agreed spot for the arrival of Godo. To pass the time, they engage in a variety of subjects with each other and with strangers they meet, in the hope of finding meaning to their existence.

All the performances can be followed at the official Facebook Page of Teatro Europa @TeatroEuropaPH.