The Delegation of the European Union in the Dominican Republic was established in 1991, within the framework of the Lomé IV Convention and later the Cotonou Agreement, that has created a partnership agreement between the European Union and the ACP countries - Africa, Caribbean and Pacific - to which the Dominican Republic is a signatory. 

Currently, a team of about 30 people of various nationalities works in the Delegation of the European Union in the Dominican Republic. 

What we do

The European Union Delegation in the country has, among others, the following functions: 

  • To represent the European Union before the authorities of the country. 
  • With its entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty (2009), the Delegations of the European Union assume the permanent presidency of the European Council in the countries where it is present. 
  • Defend the position of the European Union in various areas. 
  • Inform relevant sectors of society about the activities and actions of the European Union and its institutions. 
  • Planning and executing development cooperation programs. 
  • Participate in the preparation and negotiation of agreements between the European Union and the Dominican Republic and ensure the follow-up of all signed agreements. 

It is important to note that only the embassies of the member states have the competence to issue visas and passports. 

Our office

Head of Delegation 

Katja Afheldt – Ambassador 

Political, Press and Information Section 

María Luisa Benitez - Head of Section 

Cooperation Section 

Maria González - Head of Section 

Commercial Section 

Luis Araque de Juan  - Head of Section

Contracts and Finance Section 

Ramón Espinosa - Head of Section 

Administration Section 

Valerie Steyaert - Head of Section