To slow down the spread of coronavirus and protect the health and well-being of all Europeans, some travel restrictions have been necessary. The European Commission is doing its utmost to allow people to meet friends and family and to ensure free movement of citizens, goods and services – with full respect to health and safety measures.

Visit the EU

In June of 2020, the European Commission launched Re-open EU. The platform was initially set up as one of the measures announced by the Commission in its Tourism and Transport package to help travelling and tourism safely resume in the EU while respecting the necessary health precautions.

Today, the Schengen Area encompasses most EU countries, except for Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania. However, Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania are currently in the process of joining the Schengen Area and already applying the Schengen acquis to a large extent. Additionally, also the non-EU States Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein have joined the Schengen Area.

Citizens from some non-EU countries are required to hold a visa when travelling to the Schengen Area. The EU has a common list of countries whose citizens must have a visa when crossing external borders and a list of countries whose citizens are exempt from that requirement. You can check your country’s visa requirements here.

European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS)

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System. The European Union has created this visa waiver program to protect and strengthen its borders. The main goal of the ETIAS visa waiver for Europe is to identify possible threats or risks associated with visitors traveling to any of the Schengen Area countries. The ETIAS visa waiver program will be needed to enter a Schengen member country. By the end of 2022, all visitors that currently do not need a visa to enter Europe will be expected to apply for an ETIAS travel authorisation.


Here you will find all EU Member States diplomatic and consular services abroad.

Study in the EU

Erasmus+ is the EU's programme to support education, training, youth and sport in Europe.

It has an estimated budget of €26.2 billion. This is nearly double the funding compared to its predecessor programme (2014-2020).

The 2021-2027 programme places a strong focus on social inclusion, the green and digital transitions, and promoting young people’s participation in democratic life.

It supports priorities and activities set out in the European Education Area, Digital Education Action Plan and the European Skills Agenda. The programme also

  • Supports the European Pillar of Social Rights.
  • Implements the EU Youth Strategy 2019-2027.
  • Develops the European dimension in sport.


Erasmus+ offers mobility and cooperation opportunities in

  • Higher education.
  • Vocational education and training.
  • School education (including early childhood education and care).
  • Adult education.
  • Youth.
  • Sport.

Detailed information on these opportunities, including eligibility criteria, is available in the Erasmus+ Programme Guide.