Useful information on travelling from Tanzania to the European Union (EU), such as embassies, and information for studying there. 


When planning to visit a European country, please note that procedures for obtaining a visa would depend on whether you are planning to visit a country/countries part of the Schengen Agreement or not. 

The Schengen visa was introduced in 1995. To date 26 European countries are part of the Schengen Area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden and for the three non-EU countries: Iceland, Norway and Switzerland. 

A Schengen visa issued by an Embassy or Consulate of one of the Schengen countries allows the holder to travel freely in all Schengen States. For visits to Schengen countries, read carefully the General Schengen Visa Requirements which will also guide you to which Embassy you should apply to.

For visits to Non-Schengen countries like Ireland, please contact the Embassies directly on travel requirements. 

More information: 


Embassy of Belgium 

5, Barack Obama Road, 
P. O. Box 9210, 
Dar es  Salaam 

Tel: (+255) 22 211 40 25 

Website: https://tanzania.diplomatie.


Embassy of Germany 

Umoja House, Hamburg Ave /Mirambo St.,
2nd floor. P.O.Box 9541, 
Dar es Salaam 

Tel: 255-22-2117409-15 
Fax: 255-22-2112944 

Twitter: GermanyTanzania

Embassy of Denmark 

Ghana Avenue 1 
P. O. Box 9171, 
Dar es Salaam. 

Tel:+ 255 (22) 216 5200 


Embassy of Spain 

99B Kinondoni Road 
P. O. Box 842, 
Dar es Salaam 

Phone: + 255 22 266 6018 / 19   
Fax: + 255 22 266 6938 


Embassy of Finland 

P. O. Box 2455, Mirambo Street and Garden Avenue 
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania 

Tel: +255 22 2212 400 
Fax: +255 22 2212 433 

Website: https://finlandabroad.f

Embassy of France 

Ali Hassan Mwinyi Road 7
(angle Kilimani Road) 
PO Box 2349, 
Dar es Salaam 

Tel : +255 22 219 88 00 
Fax : +255 22 219 88 15 

Email : secretariat.dar-es-salam-amba

Website :
Facebook : France.tanzanie
Twitter : FranceTanzania 

Embassy of Ireland 

353 Toure Drive, Masaki 
Dar es Salaam 
P.O. Box 9612 

Tel: +255 22 2213800 


Embassy of Italy 

Lugalo Road, Plot 316
(Upanga) P. O. Box 2106 
Dar Es Salaam 

Tel: +255 22 2115935/2115936 

Embassy of Netherlands 

Umoja House, 4th floor,
Hamburg Avenue, 
Dar es Salaam 
P.O. Box 9534 

Tel: +255 (0)22 219 4000 
Fax: +255 (0)22 211 0044 

Embassy of Poland 

15 Mtwara Road,Oysterbay,  
P. O. Box 249, 
Dar es Salaam. 

Tel: +255 22 2221 050 

Email: daressalaam.amb.sekretariat


Embassy of Sweden 

Corner of Mirambo Street/
Hamburg Avenue.
P. O. Box 9274 
Dar es Salaam 

Tel: +255 22 2196 500 
Fax: +255 22 2196 503 





Study Programmes

Erasmus + Programme is a European Union umbrella programme in the field of education, training, youth, and sports. Within this programme, the Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters Degrees aim to enhance the quality of European higher education and to help promote dialogue and understanding between people and cultures through cooperation with Third-Countries such as the United Republic of Tanzania. The international dimension of Erasmus+ contributes to the development of human resources and the international cooperation capacity of Higher education institutions in Third Countries by increasing mobility and cooperation between the European Union and these countries. 

The Erasmus + Programme was launched in 2014 and provides support through scholarships and academic cooperation to: 

  • Higher education institutions that wish to implement joint programmes at the postgraduate level or to set-up inter-institutional cooperation partnerships between universities from Europe and targeted Third-Countries. 
  • Individual students, researchers and university staff who wish to spend a study, research, or teaching period in the context of one of the above-mentioned programmes.  

In the field of higher education, Erasmus+ supports the following main Actions targeting cooperation with Third Countries (also called Partner Countries): 

  • International credit mobility of individuals and Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degrees promoting the mobility of learners and staff from and to Partner Countries.
  •  Capacity Building projects in higher education promoting cooperation and partnerships that have an impact on the modernisation and internationalisation of higher education institutions and systems in Partner Countries.
  • Support to institutions that wish to implement top-level joint Master programmes and highly attractive scholarships for students across the world to undertake their studies on these programmes.
  • Jean Monnet activities with the aim of stimulating teaching, research and reflection in the field of European Union studies worldwide. 

Many opportunities are also offered to doctoral candidates and researchers through the Marie Skłodowska Curie Actions.

How to apply: 

Students and doctoral candidates from all over the world can apply, and there are opportunities for institutions to partner with European Union Institutions. Kindly consult the links below: 

Study mobility. 

Staff mobility. 

Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters.

General Information on cooperation outside the EU

Facebook: EUErasmusPlusProgramme

Twitter: @EUErasmusPlus

Erasmus Mundus Network in Tanzania: 

Several Tanzanians are recipients of the Erasmus Mundus scholarship. They are part of EMA (Erasmus Mundus Students and Alumni Association). The EMA members in Tanzania meet regularly (Erasmus Mundus Association Tanzania). The network members aim at improving professional development and communication among members and promoting the Erasmus Programme to Tanzanians.