The European Union (EU) counts 27 Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden)

The EU Headquarters are in Brussels, Belgium.

The only EU Member State with an Embassy in Timor-Leste is Portugal.

The other 26 EU Member States cover Timor-Leste from their Embassies in the region (Jakarta, Singapore, …).

Travelling to the European Union

For 26 European countries in what is called the 'Schengen area', the visa policy is set by the European Union.

The 26 Schengen countries are:

  • 22 EU countries: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.
  • 4 non-EU countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

The Schengen visa policy allows nationals of certain countries – amongst which Timor-Leste - to enter the Schengen Area via air, land or sea without a visa for stays of up to 90 days within a 180-day period. That period shall be calculated independently of any stay in a Member State which does not yet apply the Schengen acquis in full.

If you plan to stay longer than 90 days within a 180 day period, or you plan to get a job or set up a business, trade or profession, you need a visa. For more information on different types of visas, please visit here.

In the framework of Schengen Member-States cooperation, the Portuguese Embassy in Timor-Leste has accepted to represent and accept visa applications for Austria, Czech Republic, France, Finland, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, Norway, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania are outside the Schengen area. These five EU countries have their own rules for issuing short-stay visas and you should check requirements with the respective embassies.

The Delegation of the European Union does not issue visas.

Due to the current Covid-19 pandemic, there is a temporary restriction on the entry of persons without the right of free movement for non-essential travel.

Consular protection for EU citizens in Timor-Leste

Any EU citizen in a non-EU country where his/her own national State has no representation is entitled to protection by the diplomatic or consular authorities of any other EU country. EU citizens in such a situation are entitled to protection under the same conditions as the nationals of that other EU country.

In Timor-Leste, the only EU Member State represented with an Embassy in Portugal. Portugal is providing consular protection for the citizens of the other 26 EU Member States not represented in Timor-Leste.

Consular protection refers to assistance in cases such as:

  • Arrest or detention.
  • Serious accident.
  • Serious illness or death.
  • Natural disaster or political unrest.
  • Loss of passport or travel documents.

The Embassy of Portugal in Timor-Leste is entitled to issue a European Travel Document (ETD) to any unrepresented EU citizen whose passport or travel document has been lost, stolen or destroyed, or can otherwise not be obtained within a reasonable time, for example to new-borns born during travel or to persons whose documents have expired and cannot be easily replaced by the Member State of nationality.

Study programmes

Erasmus+, Enriching lives and opening minds through the EU programme for education, training, youth and sport

Erasmus+ is the European Union (EU) programme that supports projects, partnerships, events and mobility in the areas of education, training, youth and sport.

The current programme runs from 2021 to 2027 and provides funding opportunities for cooperation in all these areas, both among European countries and between European countries and Partner Countries throughout the world.

Erasmus+ scholarships are generous and they offer the chance to experience not only various world-class universities but also different European countries with their rich cultural heritage.

Erasmus+ offers mobility and cooperation opportunities in:

  • Higher education.
  • Vocational education and training.
  • School education (including early childhood education and care).
  • Adult education.
  • Youth and sport.

Erasmus+ is open to many individuals and organisations, although eligibility varies from one action to another and from one country to another.

Individuals can take part in many of the opportunities funded by Erasmus+, although most will have to do so through an organisation taking part in the programme. The eligibility of individuals and organisations depends on the country in which they are based.

How to apply?

Organisations are invited to submit applications online to the National Agency in the relevant country, via the Erasmus+ forms website, or to the European Education and Culture Executive Agency.

The 2021 online application forms and related documents are currently being prepared. Depending on the actions concerned, these will be made available on the websites of either the National Agencies or the European Education and Culture Executive Agency.

Detailed information on these opportunities, including eligibility criteria, is available in the Erasmus+ Programme Guide.

Key links

2021 Erasmus+ Programme guide

2021 Erasmus+ Call for proposals