Travel to the EU from United Arab Emirates.


The UAE is the first country in the Arab world to be granted a Schengen visa waiver. Under an EU-UAE agreement, holders of UAE passports have been exempted from visa requirements to enter the Schengen Area for stays of up to 90 days (within any 180-day period). The remaining visa requirements for some EU citizens travelling to the UAE have also been lifted. 

This increases personal contacts and offers renewed opportunities for business, tourism, leisure and hospitality both in Europe and in the UAE. 

The visa waiver does not apply to Ireland which is not part of the Schengen Area. 

UAE citizens are advised to consult the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs or refer to the Embassy of the Schengen Area country they intend to travel to. 

For more information, please visit:  

Visa policy


IMPORTANT NOTICE: the EU Delegation in the UAE does not deal with visa and consular matters as such. These are handled by individual EU countries' embassies and consulates.  


Erasmus+ is the EU's programme to support education, training, youth and sport in Europe. 

It has an estimated budget of €26.2 billion. This is nearly double the funding compared to its predecessor programme (2014-2020). 

The 2021-2027 programme places a strong focus on social inclusion, the green and digital transitions, and promoting young people’s participation in democratic life. 

It supports priorities and activities set out in the European Education Area, Digital Education Action Plan and the European Skills Agenda. 

Erasmus+ replaces a number of older programmes, including an international exchange programme called Erasmus Mundus. 

See the Erasmus+ web portal’s Resources section for information about linguistic support, documents for applicants and the management of proposals