This page contains information about travelling to and studying in the European Union (EU), as well as contact details for European embassies in case of further inquiries.


The EU Delegation Does Not Issue Visas, please Do Not Contact The EU Delegation Regarding Visa Matters

Travelling to the EU

For travelling to the EU, Gulf citizens and permanent residents require a visa. Depending on the destination, it will either be a Schengen visa or a national visa.

Which Countries Issue Schengen Visas?

Today, 22 EU countries (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden), plus Norway, Iceland and Switzerland issue Schengen visas. With a Schengen visa, you may enter one country and travel freely throughout the Schengen zone.

Where to Apply for the Schengen Visa?

If you intend to visit only one Schengen Member State, you must apply at the Embassy or Consulate of this Member State. If you intend to visit several Schengen countries, you must apply for a visa at the Embassy or Consulate of the country, which is your main destination. If you intend to visit several Schengen countries but do not have a main destination, you should apply for a visa at the Embassy or Consulate of the country, which is your first point of entry.

Permanent residents in the Gulf countries do not need to direct their visa application to the Member State's embassy in their country of origin but can apply at the Member State's embassy in the Gulf country they are permanent residents in.

To learn more about visa application procedures, please contact Member State embassies or consulates.

For Which Countries are National Visas Required?

Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania only issue national visas. This means that these visas are only valid for a short stay in the territory of the Member State which issued them.

Where to Apply for a National Visa?

To receive a visa for Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom you should direct enquiries to the respective embassy, consulate or foreign ministry department. 

Study Programmes


Erasmus+ is the EU’s program for education, training, youth and sport. Between 2014 and 2020, it has provided opportunities for 4 million people to study, train and gain life experience abroad.

Erasmus+ very important program for the European Union: It has contributed to the development of a sense of European identity, especially amongst the youth, and strengthened their knowledge of Europe. While the internal integration of European countries is at the heart of our identity, external actions and exchanges with other countries are the EU’s cardiovascular system. It is especially important to enter a dialogue with young people to share education and exchanges knowledge.

Erasmus+ in Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and Oman

This program is active in the Gulf region and provides young people and academics the opportunity to study or teach abroad.

We hope to have more exchanges with Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and Oman under the umbrella of the Erasmus+ programme. We see Erasmus as an opportunity for participants to learn, prosper, and work with others. Such international exchanges create future leaders who instinctively appreciate the value of international collaboration, understanding, and empathy.

See the Erasmus+ web portal’s Resources section for information about linguistic support, documents for applicants and the management of proposals.